Salty Memento

Laying in my bed, I’m a slave to sleep

The drowsiness of another day’s burden weighs me down

The world too is carrying a burden

Only tangibly felt by the grey wet sky

As I lay consumed with a heaviness only my heart understands

My thoughts slowly turn to you

 

Fights, mocking music, and harsh words

Echo in my ears clenching my heart with unrest

Water drips contently down my nose into my mouth

A salty memento of you

 

I’ll admit, I was weak and selfish

I only thought of myself

Those gifts, those hugs, those exchanges of sweet words

Only served to gratify me, not you

Those memories of love combust  after one bad word, one bad joke

We fought, you disappear, I thought I understood, but it appears my heart doesn’t

 

Fighting mocking music and harsh words

Echo in my ears, clenching my heart with unrest

Water drips contently down my nose into my mouth

A salty memento of you

 

But these lost times of happiness

Can’t be lost in these bad days, these bad times

Your laugh and the way you cutely scrunch up your eyes

Your love of music and your affinity with ice cream

I miss them all

So please, let’s not leave behind bad memories

Let’s forget for now and create new memories

 

Memories of love are doused by tears

After one shy smile, after one good word

We surrendered, we came together, we thought we understood, but we didn’t—

Our hearts did

Leave a Reply

