Heat

The cloudy grey sky matches the storm in my heart. I combat the stress tossed by life and the enemy I created within myself. The rain melts away any possibility of warmth today. I’m caught in the middle of this rain shower known as you.

I receive the heat of a summer’s afternoon

I sweat like melting ice cream

My protector

But why do I still feel cold inside?

 A wintry wind caresses my heart.

Shocked, my heart becomes bitter as the rain turns to a hesitant snow.

You and I confront each other in an unexpected rendezvous.

We avert our gaze, embarrassed to be called one.

I received the heat of a summer’s afternoon

I sweat like melting ice cream

The cold mixes in with the heat

The cocoon cracks–

I feel cold

My refuge is a coffee shop

The cocoa aroma makes me dazed

Black and white emerge in the corners of my vision

I wake up

I receive the heat of a summer’s afternoon

I sweat like melting ice cream

The cocoon opens–releasing the heat

The cold envelops me

I feel warm

You are my rain, my bitter snow, and the wind that cools my heart.

We made the mistake of hurting each other and drifted apart.

We made the present, so let’s come together today for the sake of a warmer tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

